If you purchased your PIA VPN subscription from the website and want to upgrade it to a longer term, you can only do so directly in the Client Control Panel on the My Account page. Purchasing a new plan through the website’s checkout page will not extend your existing subscription but create a new subscription instead.
Depending on the payment method you have used to purchase your initial subscription, you may have the option to upgrade to a one-year, two-year, or three-year subscription. If you already have a three-year subscription, you will not be able to upgrade to a longer-term plan, as this is the longest subscription term offered.
Please note that some promotional pricing or additional benefits (such as additional months) offered to new subscribers may not apply when upgrading an existing subscription. You can view the options available to you in the Client Control Panel following the instructions in this guide.
Eligibility
To upgrade your subscription via the Client Control Panel, you must have purchased your original subscription from our website using one of the following payment methods:
- Credit Card
- PayPal
- Google Pay
- Apple Pay
- Amazon Pay
Note: You cannot upgrade a subscription purchased via in-app subscription (i.e., via the Google Play Store on Android or the App Store on iOS) using the process below. To manage an in-app purchase, visit your Google Play subscriptions or Apple Account subscriptions page.
How to Upgrade Using the Client Control Panel
- Log in to the Client Control Panel using your account username (e.g., p1234567) and password.
- In Subscription Overview, locate the Upgrade Subscription section. This will be located below your account information. Note that you need to have auto-renewal turned on to see the Upgrade subscription section.
- Select the subscription you want, then complete the checkout process.
Note: If you are upgrading your account in the middle of your existing subscription term, the upgrade payment will be minus a prorated amount based on the unused portion of the previously paid term.
Upgrading In-App Purchases or Legacy PayPal Subscriptions
There is no option to directly upgrade a subscription purchased via the Google Play or the App Store. To upgrade your subscription, you’ll first need to cancel your recurring subscription through the app store where you purchased it. You can continue using your account until the end of your current paid term. Once it expires, you can reactivate your account by selecting a new payment method in your CCP or by purchasing a new account directly from our website.
If you have a legacy PayPal subscription, you’ll also need to cancel it first. Once your current subscription expires, you can reactivate your account by selecting a new payment method in your CCP or by purchasing a new account directly from our website.
If you are experiencing issues with upgrading your account or have any questions, please contact our support team, and we will be happy to assist you.